Breaking News
More () »

Local 5 honored with 2 Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards

Elias Johnson and Eva Andersen both earned an award for their informative, engaging storytelling.

WEST DES MOINES, Iowa — The Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA) awarded Local 5's Elias Johnson and Eva Andersen with Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards Thursday for their exceptional journalistic efforts in 2020.

Local 5 is extremely honored and proud to tell the stories of Iowans and seek answers for those in need. 

The pieces will now go to the national competition round to along with submissions from across the country. 

"The Murrows are the ultimate mark of distinction in broadcast journalism," Local 5 News Director Ryan Robertson said in a statement. "The fact Local 5 won two awards in vastly different categories shows the level of commitment we have to telling the stories Iowans care about on a foundational level.” Robertson added, “We couldn’t be more thrilled for Eva, Elias and the whole news team."

"We are very proud of both Elias and Eva for this prestigious recognition,” said Local 5 President and General Manager David Loving said. "All of our journalists strive for excellence and integrity day in and day out, and these awards are a testament to those efforts."

Feature Reporting: Elias Johnson, "Fight Like a Girl"

Elias won in the Feature Reporting category for his piece "Fight Like a Girl," which features a 13-year-old Iowa girl who loves to box. 

This is Elias' second Murrow award while working with Local 5 and his sixth overall. 

The piece also earned a 2020 Upper Midwest Emmy Award last fall, Elias' fourth.

RELATED: Fight like a girl: Des Moines teen wins national boxing title

News Series: Eva Andersen, "Disaster Divide: How Iowa's most vulnerable suffered after the storm"

The Regional Edward R. Murrow Award announcement came just in time for Eva's 32nd birthday Thursday.

She won her award in the News Series category for her "Disaster Divide" series, which explored the aftermath of the 2020 derecho in Iowa. 

This is her first Murrow award. 


RELATED: The Disaster Divide, Part I: A Call of Desperation

RELATED: The Disaster Divide, Part II: Only One Hour

RELATED: The Disaster Divide, Part III: Demoralized

RELATED: Disaster Divide Part IV: "Unwanted, uncared-for, and forgotten"

WOI-TV and stations within parent company TEGNA received 86 total Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards for reporting in 2020. 

Paid Advertisement