Breaking News
More () »

Full list of Iowa statehouse election winners

Republicans currently have control of both chambers at the Iowa State Capitol by a margin of 32-18 in the Senate and 60-40 in the House.


Candidates from all across central Iowa are running for spots in the Iowa House and Senate during the Nov. 8, 2022 midterm elections.

Currently, Republicans have control of both chambers of the Iowa Legislature by a margin of 32-18 in the Senate and 60-40 in the House.

Recent redistricting will play a large factor this election, pitting incumbents against each other and changing the makeup of constituents for many of the races.

Polls in Iowa are now closed.  Visit this link for complete election results or text RESULTS to 515-457-1026.

So what was on the ballot? 

Senate races included Districts 13, 14, 16, 17, 21, 23, 29 and 46, while House Districts 28, 30, 38, 41 and 67 will be up for grabs.

The legislative trifecta is on the ballot this year, with incumbent Gov. Kim Reynolds winning a second full term over Democrat Deidre DeJear.

The 2023 Iowa legislative session will start with its new makeup Monday, Jan. 9 and continue into May. 

RELATED: Kim Reynolds wins reelection in Iowa governor's race, AP says

RELATED: Statewide offices: Naig reelected ag secretary, Pate secretary of state




Local 5 is now on Roku and Amazon Fire TV. Download the apps today for live newscasts and video on demand.  

► Download the We Are Iowa app
► Sign up for Local 5's "5 Things to Know" email newsletter
Subscribe to Local 5 News on YouTube

Before You Leave, Check This Out