Breaking News
More () »

Iowa State sweeps Big 12's top coach, offensive and defensive player awards

The Cyclones face Oklahoma on Saturday at 11 a.m. in the Big 12 Championship Game

Iowa State has swept the Big 12′s top individual football awards as determined by a vote of the league coaches. 

Running back Breece Hall has been named the conference's offensive player of the year and junior linebacker Mike Rose the top defensive player. 

Iowa State’s Matt Campbell was named the league’s coach of the year in the All-Big 12 selections. 

The Cyclones play five-time defending Big 12 champion Oklahoma in conference championship game Saturday.

RELATED: Cyclone LB Mike Rose a big reason for Cyclones' tough defense

RELATED: Iowa State Cyclones staying even-keeled heading into Big 12 Championship Game

Credit: AP
Iowa State running back Breece Hall, left, runs in a touchdown as West Virginia defensive lineman Jalen Thornton, center, and cornerback Nicktroy Fortune, right, are late to the play during the first half of an NCAA college football game, Saturday, Dec. 5, 2020, in Ames, Iowa. (AP Photo/Matthew Putney)

Other Awards

  • Offensive Newcomer of the Year: Xavier Hutchinson, WR, junior
  • Defensive Co-Freshman of the Year: Isheem Young, DB
  • All-Big 12 First Team Offense: Brock Purdy, QB, junior; Breece Hall, RB, sophomore; Xavier Hutchinson, WR, junior; Charlie Kolar, TE, junior; Colin Newell, OL, junior 
  • All-Big 12 First Team Defense: JaQuan Bailey, DL, senior; Will McDonald, DL, sophomore; Mike Rose, LB, junior; Greg Eisworth, 
  • All-Big 12 Second Team Offense: Chase Allen, TE, senior; Derek Schweiger, OL, junior

"CyHawk Gameday" will broadcast LIVE from 10:30-11 a.m. Saturday on Local 5, online at WeAreIowa.com/Watch or via the YouTube link below!