Breaking News
More () »

Gov. Reynolds issues disaster proclamation after 26 tornadoes confirmed across Iowa Wednesday

Additional tornadoes may be confirmed over the next couple of weeks as the National Weather Service analyzes satellite data.

DES MOINES, Iowa — Iowa experienced its biggest tornado outbreak in years on Wednesday.

The National Weather Service surveyed 19 tornadoes Thursday across central and eastern Iowa.

The National Weather Service in Des Moines only confirmed five of those tornadoes, but still believes there were 12 total in central Iowa. That puts the grand total at 26 tornadoes.

The tornadoes not surveyed on Thursday will be analyzed via satellite data over the coming weeks.

The strongest of the tornadoes was the EF-3 that caused damage in Lake City. Estimated winds climbed as high as 145 mph.

This tornado initially touched down at 3:54 pm 2.5 miles west-southwest of Lake City, stayed on the ground for about 10 miles, then lifted at 4:16 pm 2.5 miles west-northwest of Lorhville.

Credit: WOI
The National Weather Service confirmed one EF-3 tornado, 10 EF-1 tornadoes, one EF-0 tornado, and 7 EF-U tornadoes. EF-U (EF-Unknown) means the strength of the tornado cannot be determined since it did not cause any damage.

LOCAL 5 FORECAST: The start of a long dry stretch

Lake City was hit by an EF-1 tornado just six years ago on May 10, 2015.

An EF-1 tornado was also confirmed in rural Hamilton County, traveling four miles from just northeast of Stanhope to just northeast of Jewell.

Gov. Kim Reynolds issued a disaster proclamation for 10 counties following the tornadoes: 

  • Appanoose
  • Bremer
  • Calhoun
  • Davis
  • Fayette
  • Lucas (A disaster proclamation was also issued for Lucas County in regards to severe weather on June 24)
  • Monroe
  • Sac
  • Wapello
  • Winneshiek

"The Iowa Individual Assistance Grant Program provides grants of up to $5,000 for households with incomes up to 200 percent of the federal poverty level," Reynolds' office said in a release. "Grants are available for home or car repairs, replacement of clothing or food, and temporary housing expenses."

Those interested have 45 days from July 16 to submit a claim.

Additional tornadoes were confirmed in Benton, Bremer, Buchanan, Butler, Delaware, Fayette, Floyd, Jones, Linn, and Tama Counties.

At 26 tornadoes, Wednesday ranks 3rd for the most Iowa tornadoes on one calendar day in recorded history.

The National Weather Service in Des Moines issued 18 tornado warnings on Wednesday: the most on one calendar day since 2004.

Credit: WOI-TV
At 26 tornadoes, Wednesday was the third largest single day tornado outbreak on record in Iowa.

RELATED: Massive hail storm sweeps through central Iowa Friday

Paid Advertisement

Before You Leave, Check This Out