What you need to know: Mayor, city council races head to runoff elections Tuesday

Local News

Local elections in Iowa took place just over four weeks ago.

But on Tuesday night, four central Iowa races will come to a close:

  • Des Moines mayor
  • Des Moines city council (Ward 2)
  • Des Moines city council (At Large)
  • Ames city council (Ward 4)

Local 5 gathered a list of what you should know before you head back to the polls.

When are polls open? Who can vote?

Polls in Des Moines and Ames will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Only residents within the municipal boundary of the City of Des Moines or Ward 4 in Ames are able to vote.

Where can I vote?

You can find your polling place on the Iowa Secretary of State’s website.

Which races are heading to a runoff election?

Three races in Des Moines and one in Ames will conclude Tuesday night.

Des Moiens will choose their next mayor between four-term incumbent Mayor Frank Cownie or Jack Hatch, a former Iowa Representative, Senator and gubernatorial candidate.

City Council Ward 2 in Des Moines will see a runoff between incumbent Linda Westergaard and Skip Moore, who was a former Councilman At Large.

An at-large spot on Des Moines’ city council is also on the ballot, with Carl Voss up against Jacquie Easley.

The candidates for Ames City Council Ward 4 are Iowa State University student Rachel Junck and incumbent Chris Nelson.

What leads to a runoff election?

Under the Iowa Code, a runoff election happens when a candidate doesn’t reach the required majority of votes in a regular city election.

The candidates that received the highest number of votes continue to the runoff election.

©TEGNA Inc. 2019. All Rights Reserved.